ALWAYS SECURE
America's Oldest Speed Shop ® 800.979.0122 Lincoln, NE
Filters
Menu
Contact
Help Center
x
x
How to Contact Us

U.S.Order Line:

800.979.0122

(CST) 7am - 10pm

Race and Rod Tech Support

Mon-Fri 8am - 5pm

Canadian Order Line:

855.313.9180

International Order Line:

1.402.323.3200
Since 1952
Menu
x

Speedway Vertical Steering Reservoir Tanks

Specs
Material Type:
Aluminum
Overall Height:
9.00
Weight:
1.5
Sold in Quantity:
Each
Finish:
Natural
Overall Diameter:
3.50
Outlet Fitting:
-
Notes
Accepts 2.5" replacement cap 617-5022.
Speedway Vertical Steering Reservoir Tanks

Click image to enlarge

Details

Reviews

Q & A

What's in the Box

Vertical mounted power steering reservoir tank.  The top return fitting is the industry standard AN 6 size. Available with AN 8 or AN 10 outlets. These tanks are NOT internally baffled. 

Bracket sold separately. Bracket can be welded to the tank, strapped to the tank with hose clamps, or custom-mounted to suit your needs.

Item Details

Mount bracket not included.

Notes

  1. Connect this reservoir to your system using 3/8" hose, used by the majority of OEMs (3/8" = AN6).
  2. Use rubber hose and push-lock fittings, or braided stainless steel lines.
  3. Lost your cap? Use replacement cap 617-5022.

Specs


Customer Reviews

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 12 reviewers.
RATING BREAKDOWN
12 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT:

ghiagirl163
Verified Purchaser
Tuttle,OK

perfect fit

July 16, 2015
Great craftsmenship!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Full Size Image

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Robert13
Tennessee

Poor design on supply fiting and loose c

May 08, 2014
Soon after I installed this reservoir on my dirt car, fluid started seeping from around the crimped supply fitting. It has progressively became worse over time to the point that I need to either TIG the fitting to the tank or get a new one. Very poor design. Weld the fitting Speedway. Don't rely on a very loose crimp and a leaky O-ring. Also, the cap loosens up over time and leaks. I attribute this to the aluminum construction of the tank top wearing too quickly where the cap engages it. I've had to put my cap in the vise to tighten it back up a few times by collapsing the ears just a tiny bit. In my opinion the cap should have spring loaded ears like a factory PS cap.
Pros:
  • cheap
Cons:
  • You get what you pay for
No, I would not recommend this product.
Full Size Image

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Merchant Response:

Speedway Motors customer service team has issued this customer a refund for the defective tank received. We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused. We appreciate the feedback as these comments have been forwarded to our quality control team to further investigate the issue with our remaining inventory of this product.
meckanik
Arizona

Poorly engineered

November 22, 2013
-10 fitting is pointless when it is adapted to a -8 fitting. Port adapter is pressed in and not sealed, leaks. Fluid return areates fluid by slamming it into 90 degree cross drill. Imagine putting your thumb on the end of the garden hose. Fortunatly I had the resources to rework it to be useful. Otherwise it's scrap.
Pros:
  • cheap
Cons:
  • bad design
No, I would not recommend this product.
Full Size Image

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Merchant Response:

Speedway Motors Customer Service team issued this customer a refund for the defective item received and for their troubles with the leaking adapter. We apologize for any inconvenience experienced due to defective products not properly functioning as intended and we are happy to help in any way to resolve these issues.
Shaglet

Good for the money

September 20, 2013
I purchased this tank for my project I ended up getting the bracket that is sold separately as well. The tank is well made and is better than I would have expected. I do wish that there was an additional -6 port. I will have to add one since the tank I purchased will be used in a hydro assist application. The -10 fitting is nice however it is less common and harder to find parts for.
Pros:
  • great quality for the price
  • Looks good
Cons:
  • bracket sold sperately
  • wish there were more port options
Yes, I recommend this product.
Full Size Image

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Ryant
Denver, CO, USA

Faulty Fitting!

July 27, 2013
I have seen from the other reviews that this seems to be a common problem. I finally got the point in my project where I could install the reservoir and plumb the system, but now I am having to drain the system after only firing up the motor 6 times. Why you ask? Because the bottom fitting appears to be only crimped and leaks like a sieve. Out of all the products that I have purchased from Speedway this is my first disappointment. I am now scrambling to get the fitting welded up (aluminum) or replace it before the maiden voyage of this vehicle on 8/15/13.
Pros:
  • cheap
  • Large Capacity
  • quick service
Cons:
  • non welded lower fitting
  • leaks
No, I would not recommend this product.
Full Size Image

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Merchant Response:

Speedway Customer Service issued this customer a replacement tank at no cost.
DeucesWild
California

Faulty fitting and cap

April 28, 2013
The cap is too loose. I've placed it in a vice a couple times and squeezed it tighter to make it work, but it just loosens right back up after a few races. I'm able to get by with that problem, but a bigger issues is the fitting at the bottom of the canister. It 'swivels' but now after 1 year of usage, it leaks from the swivel even when not in use/under pressure.
Pros:
  • cheap
  • large fluid capacity
Cons:
  • leaks
  • faulty/loose cap
  • faulty fitting
No, I would not recommend this product.
Full Size Image

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Merchant Response:

Speedway Customer Service has issued this customer a replacement reservoir tank for the defective one received.
asifnyc
bay area, ca

cap loosens up

March 14, 2012
bought this to put on a road race car. price was right. 3 months later the cap won't go on tight. this results in fluid getting pushed up out of the cap and going everywhere. would not recommend...
Pros:
  • Price
No, I would not recommend this product.
Full Size Image

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Merchant Response:

Speedway Customer Service sent this customer a new tank to replace the defective unit he received. Speedway Motors stands behind the performance of all the products we sell. If the item you purchased is used as intended but does not meet your performance expectations, please let us know about it. We'll be sure to make it right with you.
BRDWG
Verified Purchaser
Fayetteville, GA

Nice

October 24, 2011
Used this item on a jeep CJ motor conversion. Was able to relocate the PS reservoir over to the fender and made for a much cleaner, nicer looking application over OEM.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Full Size Image

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Popawheelies
Verified Purchaser
South Bay Area CA

Needs right fitting on bottom,

July 29, 2011
This needs a bigger way to adjust the bottom fitting, some of the GM pumps have an awful large tube coming off of them the only way I could make the hose work is silcone seal the threads on the tank and fit the power steering hose to the pump. I don't know why the pumps have to have such a large fitting, if you could go to a smaller fitting on pump this unit would work grate.
Pros:
  • Easy To Install
No, I would not recommend this product.
Full Size Image

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Phazer
New York

Mounting it

June 30, 2010
Got the Pump and Resevaor and just not sure how the bracket and resevor mount? No instructions or clamps came with it.
Pros:
  • Nice looking
No, I would not recommend this product.
Full Size Image

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Page 1 of 2

Product Q&A

3 questions : 5 answers

1 answers

tank volumn

seniorman
portland or
January 27, 2015

tank volumn

Answers

January 29, 2015
EricM
This tank holds just over one quart if filled completely. For fill height when used for a power steering reservoir we suggest approximately 2/3 full to allow for expansion.
3 answers

Does this tank have a swirl action return fitting?

autoxmatt
May 27, 2014

Does this tank have a swirl action return fitting?

Answers

July 02, 2015
Eric
Expert
Yes the return fitting is a swirl action.
May 28, 2014
EricM
Yes the return fitting is a swirl action.
February 24, 2015
seniorman
yes
1 answers

i bought this tank with the wrong size fitting on the bottom,i removed it, and was going to get the right one,but i cant find a fitting that will fit.can you tell me what size the male end on the bottom is.I have and ordered a an10, but i need a an8 is there something you guys can recommend.i bought it a while ago

eric o 51 f1
wolcott ct
June 28, 2015

i bought this tank with the wrong size fitting on the bottom,i removed it, and was going to get the right one,but i cant find a fitting that will fit.can you tell me what size the male end on the bottom is.I have and ordered a an10, but i need a an8 is there something you guys can recommend.i bought it a while ago

Answers

June 29, 2015
Eric
Expert
If you need AN8 outlet you could use a weld bung such as 6177208 which will need to be welded in place. The fitting on the bottom of this tank is not intended to be removable/replaceable. It is press fit in place when new and is not intended to be replaced. You could certainly weld a new bung onto the bottom of the tank however.
Page 1 of 1

You may also be interested in:

Filler Neck Replacement Twist Cap, 2-1/2 Inch
(Part #6175022)
                        Filler neck replacement twist cap for 2-1/2" neck. This is a vented cap as it vents to the  underside of the cap. 
                    
KSE Racing Products KSF2000-010 Vertical Reservoir Tank with Filter
(Part #91032860)
                        KSE vertical power steering reservoir tanks are a lightweight aluminum design. Features an internal filter, vented cap and AN 6 inlet/AN 10 outlet. Mount with bracket at right.  
  • Adequate fluid dwell time for cooling and de-aration under all racing conditions
  • Improved cooling
  • Minimizes pump starvation (cavitation) under hard cornering conditions
  • Internal Filter
  • Vented Cap
  • Optimim inlet/outlet size and locations
  • Overall Height:  7-3/4"
  • Diameter:  3-1/2"

Item Details

Mount bracket not included. (At right)
Speedway Steering-Mounted Reservoir Tank
(Part #91032875)
                        

This power steering reservoir tank mounts horizontal, directly on steering gear. Aluminum with cap and fittings. 

All tanks have an AN 6 top fitting, and your choice of AN 8 or AN 10 lower fitting.

Note:  This tank is not to be used with any KSE pump or gear combination or any high RPM race application.  This is due to the inlet/outlet positioning and the smaller capacity of this tank.  If intending to use with a KSE combination, please consider the squre or vertical round reservoir type tanks as an alternate option.

Vertical Power Steering Reservoir Tank: AN 10 with Bracket & Clamps
(Part #91032882)
                        Available in 1.5 lbs. standard weight with swirl action return fitting.  AN 10 outlet.
                    
Vertical Power Steering Reservoir Tank: -6AN, -10AN w/Bracket, Black
(Part #91032883)
                        

These black power steering fluid reservoirs come with an -6AN return and an -10AN pick up.  They are designed for Sprint racing applications and feature a swirl action return fitting with a total standard weight of 1.5 lbs. Instead of fluid shooting straight into tank it is directed to the side of the tank so it swirls around the inside of tank before draining back into sitting fluid. This is done to help with foaming or aireating of fluid being returned to tank.

  • Available in 1.5 lbs. standard weight with swirl action return fitting
  • -10 AN outlet
  • -6 AN return fitting
Lubrication Engineers 7500 LE Power Steering Fluid, 1 Qt.
(Part #91044010)
                        

This power steering fluid is compatible with all racing power steering systems. Non-foaming, even at high temperatures. The best we have found. 1 quart.

  • Lowers operating temperatures
  • Controls rust and corrosion
  • Foam prevention
  • Seal compatibility
  • Reduces pump & gear wear
  • Resists oxidation
  • Contains MONOLEC, LE's exclusive wear-reducing additive
Power Steering/Coolant Tank Mount
(Part #91032880)
                        

Use this handy 3" tall aluminum bracket to mount your power steering reservoir tank or your coolant overflow expansion tank. Can be welded to the tank, strapped to the tank with hose clamps, or custom-mounted to suit your needs.

Tank NOT included. 

Power Steering Hose Kit, -8 AN Reservoir
(Part #91032950)
                        

This power steering hose kit is just what you need to plumb your drivers side remote reservoir power steering set up. The AN 8 hose kit includes 4 of AN 6 high pressure hose, 5 of AN 6 blue aeroquip hose and 3 of AN8 blue aeroquip hose. One 45° AN 6 and one 90° AN 6 fittings are included as well as an AN 6 straight brass push-on and one AN 6 and two AN 8 90° push-on hose ends.

NOTE: Does NOT contain steering box fittings 

Item Details

AN 6 pressure and return and AN 8 reservoir and fittings.