Products to Compare (max of 3)
X
Compare These Parts
ALWAYS SECURE
America's Oldest Speed Shop ® Talk to the Experts. Call 800.979.0122, 7am-10pm, everyday.
Filters
Menu
Help Center
Help Center
x
Help Center

U.S.Order Line:

800.979.0122

(CST) 7am - 10pm

Race and Rod Tech Support

Mon-Fri 8am - 5pm

Canadian Order Line:

855.313.9180

International Order Line:

1.402.323.3200
Since 1952
Menu
x

Speedway Vertical Steering Reservoir Tanks

Specs
Material Type:
Aluminum
Sold in Quantity:
Each
Finish:
Natural
Outlet Fitting:
-
Overall Height:
9.00
Overall Diameter:
3.50
Weight:
1.5
Notes
Accepts 2.5" replacement cap 617-5022.
Speedway Vertical Steering Reservoir Tanks

Click image to enlarge

Details

Reviews (16)

Q & A (5)

What's in the Box

Info

Vertical mounted power steering reservoir tank.  The top return fitting is the industry standard AN 6 size. Available with AN 8 or AN 10 outlets. These tanks are NOT internally baffled. 

Bracket sold separately. Bracket can be welded to the tank, strapped to the tank with hose clamps, or custom-mounted to suit your needs.

Item Details

Mount bracket not included.

Notes

  1. Connect this reservoir to your system using 3/8" hose, used by the majority of OEMs (3/8" = AN6).
  2. Use rubber hose and push-lock fittings, or braided stainless steel lines.
  3. Lost your cap? Use replacement cap 617-5022.

Specs


Customer Reviews

Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 16 reviewers.
RATING BREAKDOWN
16 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT:

Dan
Verified Purchaser
Verified Reviewer
Clayton, IN

Reservoir

April 19, 2016
Great Product would recommend it
No, I would not recommend this product.
Full Size Image

Was this review helpful? 0 0

lbrashea
Verified Reviewer
melbourne fl

Not made very well

February 21, 2016
It leaks at the top where it is rolled over, it is also very thin, it was much cheaper than others and now I know why. Spend the extra and get a good one. First problem I have had with a Speedway item
No, I would not recommend this product.
Full Size Image

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Merchant Response:

Thanks for your feedback! We appreciate hearing from you. Your review has been passed along to our QC team to record and inspect the issue with this product. We are really sorry for your frustration and are always happy to help.
Craig
Verified Reviewer
Gastonia, NC

Decent

February 18, 2016
I put this in my dirt car and the bottom fitting began to leak a few weeks later and have not ran it yet, so i had to have it tig welded. Its made out of thinner material than other ones i have used in the past.
Cons:
  • Bottom Fitting Leaks
  • Thinly Made
No, I would not recommend this product.
Full Size Image

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Merchant Response:

Thanks for your feedback! We appreciate hearing from you. Your review has been passed along to our QC team to record and inspect the issue with this product. We are really sorry for your frustration and are always happy to help.
lickskilletchevy
Verified Purchaser
Verified Reviewer
Hazel Green, Al

Steering Reservoir

August 21, 2015
Great product, excellent quality. Fast shipping Fit my application perfect
Pros:
  • PERFECT
Cons:
  • None
Yes, I recommend this product.
Full Size Image

Was this review helpful? 0 0

ghiagirl163
Verified Purchaser
Tuttle,OK

perfect fit

July 16, 2015
Great craftsmenship!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Full Size Image

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Robert13
Tennessee

Poor design on supply fiting and loose c

May 08, 2014
Soon after I installed this reservoir on my dirt car, fluid started seeping from around the crimped supply fitting. It has progressively became worse over time to the point that I need to either TIG the fitting to the tank or get a new one. Very poor design. Weld the fitting Speedway. Don't rely on a very loose crimp and a leaky O-ring. Also, the cap loosens up over time and leaks. I attribute this to the aluminum construction of the tank top wearing too quickly where the cap engages it. I've had to put my cap in the vise to tighten it back up a few times by collapsing the ears just a tiny bit. In my opinion the cap should have spring loaded ears like a factory PS cap.
Pros:
  • cheap
Cons:
  • You get what you pay for
No, I would not recommend this product.
Full Size Image

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Merchant Response:

Speedway Motors customer service team has issued this customer a refund for the defective tank received. We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused. We appreciate the feedback as these comments have been forwarded to our quality control team to further investigate the issue with our remaining inventory of this product.
meckanik
Arizona

Poorly engineered

November 22, 2013
-10 fitting is pointless when it is adapted to a -8 fitting. Port adapter is pressed in and not sealed, leaks. Fluid return areates fluid by slamming it into 90 degree cross drill. Imagine putting your thumb on the end of the garden hose. Fortunatly I had the resources to rework it to be useful. Otherwise it's scrap.
Pros:
  • cheap
Cons:
  • bad design
No, I would not recommend this product.
Full Size Image

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Merchant Response:

Speedway Motors Customer Service team issued this customer a refund for the defective item received and for their troubles with the leaking adapter. We apologize for any inconvenience experienced due to defective products not properly functioning as intended and we are happy to help in any way to resolve these issues.
Shaglet

Good for the money

September 20, 2013
I purchased this tank for my project I ended up getting the bracket that is sold separately as well. The tank is well made and is better than I would have expected. I do wish that there was an additional -6 port. I will have to add one since the tank I purchased will be used in a hydro assist application. The -10 fitting is nice however it is less common and harder to find parts for.
Pros:
  • Looks good
  • great quality for the price
Cons:
  • bracket sold sperately
  • wish there were more port options
Yes, I recommend this product.
Full Size Image

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Ryant
Denver, CO, USA

Faulty Fitting!

July 27, 2013
I have seen from the other reviews that this seems to be a common problem. I finally got the point in my project where I could install the reservoir and plumb the system, but now I am having to drain the system after only firing up the motor 6 times. Why you ask? Because the bottom fitting appears to be only crimped and leaks like a sieve. Out of all the products that I have purchased from Speedway this is my first disappointment. I am now scrambling to get the fitting welded up (aluminum) or replace it before the maiden voyage of this vehicle on 8/15/13.
Pros:
  • cheap
  • Large Capacity
  • quick service
Cons:
  • non welded lower fitting
  • leaks
No, I would not recommend this product.
Full Size Image

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Merchant Response:

Speedway Customer Service issued this customer a replacement tank at no cost.
DeucesWild
California

Faulty fitting and cap

April 28, 2013
The cap is too loose. I've placed it in a vice a couple times and squeezed it tighter to make it work, but it just loosens right back up after a few races. I'm able to get by with that problem, but a bigger issues is the fitting at the bottom of the canister. It 'swivels' but now after 1 year of usage, it leaks from the swivel even when not in use/under pressure.
Pros:
  • cheap
  • large fluid capacity
Cons:
  • leaks
  • faulty/loose cap
  • faulty fitting
No, I would not recommend this product.
Full Size Image

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Merchant Response:

Speedway Customer Service has issued this customer a replacement reservoir tank for the defective one received.
Page 1 of 2

Product Q&A

5 questions : 7 answers

1 answers

tank volumn

seniorman
portland or
January 27, 2015

tank volumn

Answers

January 29, 2015
EricM
This tank holds just over one quart if filled completely. For fill height when used for a power steering reservoir we suggest approximately 2/3 full to allow for expansion.
3 answers

Does this tank have a swirl action return fitting?

autoxmatt
May 27, 2014

Does this tank have a swirl action return fitting?

Answers

July 02, 2015
Eric
Expert
Yes the return fitting is a swirl action.
May 28, 2014
EricM
Yes the return fitting is a swirl action.
February 24, 2015
seniorman
yes
1 answers

i bought this tank with the wrong size fitting on the bottom,i removed it, and was going to get the right one,but i cant find a fitting that will fit.can you tell me what size the male end on the bottom is.I have and ordered a an10, but i need a an8 is there something you guys can recommend.i bought it a while ago

eric o 51 f1
wolcott ct
June 28, 2015

i bought this tank with the wrong size fitting on the bottom,i removed it, and was going to get the right one,but i cant find a fitting that will fit.can you tell me what size the male end on the bottom is.I have and ordered a an10, but i need a an8 is there something you guys can recommend.i bought it a while ago

Answers

June 29, 2015
Eric
Expert
If you need AN8 outlet you could use a weld bung such as 6177208 which will need to be welded in place. The fitting on the bottom of this tank is not intended to be removable/replaceable. It is press fit in place when new and is not intended to be replaced. You could certainly weld a new bung onto the bottom of the tank however.
1 answers

What is the diameter of this item?

Jay
Sacramento, Ca.
August 20, 2015

What is the diameter of this item?

Answers

August 21, 2015
Andy
Expert
The overall diameter of the reservoir is 3.5".
1 answers

Is this reservoir offered in black finish?

Mike
December 15, 2015

Is this reservoir offered in black finish?

Answers

December 15, 2015
Eric
Expert
We offer a similar reservoir in black which is part number 91032883.
Page 1 of 1

You may also be interested in:

  • Filler Neck Replacement Twist Cap, 2-1/2 Inch Filler Neck Replacement Twist Cap, 2-1/2 Inch
    View
    (2)
    $9.99
    Compare
  • KSE Racing Products KSF2000-010 Vertical Reservoir Tank with Filter KSE Racing Products KSF2000-010 Vertical Reservoir Tank with Filter
    View
    (1)
    $119.99
    Compare
  • Speedway Steering-Mounted Reservoir Tank Speedway Steering-Mounted Reservoir Tank
    View
    (0)
    $62.99
    Compare
  • Vertical Power Steering Reservoir Tank: AN 10 with Bracket & Clamps Vertical Power Steering Reservoir Tank: AN 10 with Bracket & Clamps
    View
    (1)
    $59.99
    Compare
  • Vertical Power Steering Reservoir Tank: -6AN, -10AN w/Bracket, Black Vertical Power Steering Reservoir Tank: -6AN, -10AN w/Bracket, Black
    View
    (0)
    $69.99
    Compare
  • Lubrication Engineers 7500 LE Power Steering Fluid, 1 Qt. Lubrication Engineers 7500 LE Power Steering Fluid, 1 Qt.
    View
    (1)
    $14.99
    Compare
  • Power Steering/Coolant Tank Mount Power Steering/Coolant Tank Mount
    View
    (1)
    $9.99
    Compare
  • Power Steering Hose Kit, -8 AN Reservoir Power Steering Hose Kit, -8 AN Reservoir
    View
    (0)
    $97.99
    Compare
Suggestions For You